Levrone Transformation, Week 5 Back Workout • LevroneReport.com

BENT OVER ROWS:

4 sets: 60kg + bar (177 lbs) x 6


ONE ARM ROWS

100 lbs x 6

120 lbs x 6

130 lbs x 6

140 lbs x 6

Correction: in the video I said I’d be doing Seated Rows next, but I meant T-Bar Rows instead. (Below).

T-BAR ROWS

4 sets: 195 lbs x 6

SEATED ROWS

4 sets: 200 lbs x 12

SHOULDER SHRUGS

3 sets: 315 lbs x 6

No biceps today which may seem to go against what I said earlier about always training biceps with back. However, this week is all about shocking the muscles. My biceps are pretty shot today, I’m going to shock them by training them with chest, shoulder and tris tomorrow.

67 Responses to Levrone Transformation, Week 5 Back Workout • LevroneReport.com

  1. chris says:

    nice job kevin keep going man!

  2. notta says:

    That t shirt is fitting nice Kev. Tell me that doesn’t feel good 🙂 Keep it up.

  3. Roger says:

    Yeah! Rock n’ Roll! Another great workout and a great series of videos! And you’ve definitely put on some size! You seem to have lots of energy Kev. Love the words of wisdom.

    Just awesome. What more can I say. I’m off to do legs in a few hours. Hardly ever been so excited about going to the gym.

    Now get some rest and grow!!

  4. Cliq says:

    nice work!

    really motivates me as i am starting my training again after a long layoff.

    great to follow your progress

  5. Greg Rask says:

    Kevin,

    Curious as to not doing any Pulldowns/Chin Ups?

    Nice work dude!!!

    • I did lat pull downs in a previous video. I’ve never seen pro bodybuilders do a lot of pull ups. Pull ups certainly ripped up Bruce Lee, so it’s a fine exercise, depends what you’re going for. I’d rather pull down 300 lbs than do pull ups.

      • gymtime says:

        vic martinez swears by pullups…….i dont blame him, they target your back in a very different way than pulldowns even though you can be pulling 300lbs, its a different thing.

        also: ive seen some big ass dudes pulldown 250+ lbs but when it came to doing pullups with proper form, they could hardly do 3 at their own bodyweight. just something to think about

  6. Marco says:

    great videos kev…loving the commitment and heart

  7. Grebaam says:

    Atta boy Kevin, lovin the workouts big man im still with you in this, up to 227 leaned out quite a bit (dont know if you saw my post before in training weeks ago, no biggie either way) but your keepin me motivated too brotha ive been upping my weights a bit and have my diet straight now. I want to tell you also that you are dealing with the skeptics really well man, it really makes your character show… I also catch flak from everybody tryin to buy steroids and whatnot from me when im all natural but they cant comprehend that, I tell them im on “Caloric Anabolics” haha. Also I am getting my Doctorates in Pharmacy and can’t wait to check out exactly what kind of supplement stack you got goin on down the line and implement some of it into my own.. Anyway man thanks again, and I believe in you just like I believe in myself brotha!

  8. Moz says:

    Nice, I like :D..

  9. Alex says:

    YEAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAH!!! GO BACK ON STAGE.

  10. RoB says:

    Keep it up Big Kev!!…Im curious Kev if u get up to a good size and pretty lean with the Olympia coming up, would u consider it? Im not saying u would do it, just would u consider it? I mean damn i dont think anyone of the pro’s right now could touch u if u peaked and looked anywhere near how u did, i mean noone would come close, and i could almost guarantee u would finally win that sandow, i truthfully feel that way. Now i know thats alot of work and alot of time from now, but would u consider it is all im asking? Also how do u feel about the pro’s nowadays compared to back when u were in the game and running it in the 90’s and early 2000’s? Do u think bodybuilding has lost alittle something, maybe taking a step backward compared to the boys of the 90’s? I mean lets be honest if u or Shawn Ray, Flex, or Cormier were at ur prime right now, i dont think u would be touched by any of these guys right now, and im not bashing anyone im just saying how far and away advanced all u guys were. I wud even throw in Nasser, Priest and Dillett into that mix. Just curious what u think about the sport how it is right now compared to ur time, and trust me i know we have alot of great up and comers with guys like Heath, Evan, Curry, ect. But anyways keep it up Kev, love u bro!

    RoB from The Bronx, New York

  11. JL2 says:

    Hey Kevin! Looking good bro!!!! Just want to say Thanks for what you are doing. I’m behind you 100%. Also thanks for showing your true character by not lashing out at the negative comments. Not only from bloggers but also from other pros. (I heard about the comments that Flex Wheeler made about you). Not only are you an inspiration in the gym but also outside the gym. Great wisdom bro. Just reading your comments is teaching me how to choose my battles wisely. Thanks and God Bless!

  12. JL2 says:

    Also, just something to look at. Look at the freeze frame on the bent over rows vid and then look at the picture in the top right of your web page. The exact same expression! Do you age at all? LOL. You haven’t changed a bit.

  13. Jimmy James says:

    Sweden here…

    Now that´s what I call filling up a shirt, Kevin!! =)
    The physical progress you´re going through is nowadays obvious even with a t-shirt on.

    Massive…and impressive.

    I´m daily checking in on this site and follow your progress with great interest. This is so fun, educating and motivating.

    …Out

    //Jimmy, Sweden

  14. Steve W says:

    we’re in it together YOU KNOW IT KEV. you said its all mental, someone out there training harder than you all the time, for me that someone is you and i visualize it when im working out, you know that last rep?! you dont think you can get it out, but then bam i think of how hard you work and then rep goes up. its a competition man but we are brothers helping eachother improve!!

  15. Leep says:

    Inspirational and very informative.
    Keep up the great work!

  16. Rob says:

    Thanks Kevin for all the inspirational reports on this blog. Now I’m more determined to make my own transformation as well. For me I need to go from 275 lbs at 25% bf to around 225 at 10%. 2 questions: Why do barbell row and dumbbell row both in 1 workout; aren’t those exercise very similar? Can we see an ab workout from you?
    Rob

    • Barbell row lets you handle more weight to stimulate overall mass and thickness, but the range of motion is limited. Dumbells have a greater range of motion. You can still handle a lot of weight, but slightly less. Together they make a perfect combination for burning out the lower lat.

      Ab workouts are nothing special for now. Regular military-style situps every morning: 100 in the morning, 100 at night.

  17. Akeem says:

    Good job Bro..!! Been following your progress. Keep up the good work, I’m a strong believer in your hard work and results.

  18. jasper says:

    looking nice man
    some good quick words you say there
    we’re in this together, don’t give up, never quit, if you never give up you never lose wooooooooo

  19. Norweigian says:

    I dont understand why u go so heavy so soon. Man, u been there for just 5 weeks only and yet you are using 140 for siderows. How are u going to keep this up? As far as i know the most important factor for gaining musclesize is always go heavier. U may start with some pusyweigths, but as long as u increase the weigths next time, your muscles will grow. You need to shock the muscles. You also said that. But how are u gonna shock those lats in 10 weeks when you`re using the heaviest handlebars in the gym already?
    But maybe u “one in a million DNA” -guys do not how to follow basic rules for weigthlifting.

  20. Maciek says:

    Hi Kevin,

    Just curious – if U would stand again on the Olympia stage – do U have to start over some qualifications before or u just make announcement of Your return to pro?

    Grets from Poland

    • The IFBB Professional League or Jim Manion would have to give me a special invite. The odds of that invite are low – he probably knows I have no plans to compete right now.

  21. Maydie says:

    Does someone knows how often Kevin goes training in a week?
    I splitted in 3 days
    MO:Training 1
    TU:T 2
    WE:T3
    THU:No Training
    FR: Training 1
    TU:T 2
    ……

    is it ok how i train?

  22. Egor says:

    Thanks for informative vid. Keep it up!

    LOL At the second video in the background girl and guy go out on dates.

  23. Djekay says:

    Hi Kevin,

    Good workout!
    Do you still have any lower back problems?

    Greetings from Holland.

  24. kennyfat says:

    thank you kevin!

  25. William says:

    Dude i dont want to swear but DAAAEMN. You sure silenced all the haters Kev!:D
    And u are just getting better thats what’s really scary, i dont want to get my hopes up but i do hope you’ll do a comeback on stage!

    I went to the gym yesterday to see if i could train without getting sick again.. the next day(today) i feel just as bad as i did when i was sick.=( Like you said “bad times does not last forever”.. i really hope so..
    Now im gonna make an appointment with a doctor then go out in the sun with my girl.
    Have a nice day bro

    William from Sweden

  26. Laron says:

    very motivating to watch ur progress man, keep going strong!

  27. Norman says:

    hey kevin,
    i´m from germany and my english is not very good.excuse me.
    i watch your transformation every day and it´s a great motivation for me.only by watching you the intensity of my own training has become much higher.keep going on kevin.we are with you.

    norman from germany

  28. Frank says:

    Hey Kevin,

    Great workout. You are a real inspiration to look at.

    I got a couple of questions:

    The first one is about your rep-range. You use 6 to 8 reps on most excersises (except legs). Do you do this normally all year around? Don’t your muscles start to adept to this rep-range after a while?

    The second one is about the straps. Your straps look pretty good. Does it matter from which fabricant they are or do they all work well?

    Good look with your workouts and you really help me too train harder as well.

    Frank from the Netherlands

  29. Peet says:

    Kevin (Hero)

    Your speech about mental strength and how there is someone out there trying hard than you, and how we are all in this together and we have to beat them? – OUT OF THIS WORLD MAN. I AM MOOOOOOOTIVATED THRU THE ROOOOOFF!!! WHOoooOOOoOOOOOOOooo!!!! Today is my bday and I’m gonna go train like a mad man. wish me luck.

    Peet

  30. Scott says:

    Kev,

    I love that the focus is form and yours is perfect. I want to grow up and be like you brother. GREAT JOB,,,,,

    L8TR

  31. jochapin says:

    kevin!! you are a inspiration man!! thanks for give us all your experience!! you are a leader!! keep on going because we are with you!!

    joe from guatemala central america

  32. Demorak says:

    Gettin serious I see… that is awsome man, Im also doing back today in about 3hours 🙂 , cant wait for tomorrows bench workout

  33. Kostas Rod. says:

    Go Keeeev… You seem happier in every new video you make man… You have the thirst!!! Make as get crazy… Regards from Greece

  34. Lievore says:

    Kevin you rock… Light weight baby ! ahshsahsu

    Out.

  35. Lyotoo says:

    Sick session kevin! Just when I was questioning why you weren’t hitting those bent over rows, your brought em out haha. You’re looking beastly. Just wondering why you took the wide grip lat pull downs out in favor of the T-Bar row and Seated cable row. Aren’t the two rows similar in stimulation?

    • T-bar rows build thickness and mass on your lower lat. Wide grip pulldowns build detail in the center of your upper back. Time’s running out, I need to thicken that back up, put on some size.

      Look in the mirror, visualize your ultimate body. Then, compare yourself to your goal. Figure out whether you need more mass, more definition, and choose your workouts that way.

      In my case I want to stimulate some mass on this week, so I’m choosing the best mass workout.

  36. McK says:

    Awesome videos, you must be up about 18 – 20 lbs?

  37. Mits says:

    awesome workout kevin, your getting huge. your blog is really inspiring me to push myself physically and mentally in and out of the gym. I’ve broken through a plateau thanks to your blog and the knowledge you’ve shared on it, thanks man.
    Keep on pumping those weight bro.

  38. Святославич says:

    Love your blog and your attitude! Can’t wait for your next report 🙂

  39. Dave says:

    Kevin,
    Are you doing cardio before or after your workouts?

  40. Jamin says:

    Hey Kevin, its Jamin from the gym. Didn’t know your up to 223 lb, that is very impressive. I gotta say you looked like your old self doing those T-Bar Rows. Your constant growth is making more and more HATERS shut up. Keep it up Kevin, I know you can still hit the stage again, you still have the BEST GENETICS IN BODYBUILDING.

  41. Eddie says:

    He would have only 2 months to prepare, seems to me really impossible…

  42. kevin says:

    hey kev,
    just question. what do you mean with shocking the muscle… you train the same muscle the whole week?
    so 4 times ? or do I get it wrong?
    greetings from Belgium

    keep on pumping !

    • Shocking the muscle = training the muscle out of sequence. For me it means training the same muscle twice in one day, every day, or every other day. Or it means switching the workout completely around. For instance if you’re used to start with flat bench, switch it up and start with incline, then finish with flat bench.
      I’m crazy like that dude, I always try to challenge my body, especially when my back’s against the wall.

  43. RoB says:

    Keep it up Big Kev!!…Im curious Kev if u get up to a good size and pretty lean with the Olympia coming up, would u consider it? Im not saying u would do it, just would u consider it? I mean damn i dont think anyone of the pro’s right now could touch u if u peaked and looked anywhere near how u did, i mean noone would come close, and i could almost guarantee u would finally win that sandow, i truthfully feel that way. Now i know thats alot of work and alot of time from now, but would u consider it is all im asking? Also how do u feel about the pro’s nowadays compared to back when u were in the game and running it in the 90’s and early 2000’s? Do u think bodybuilding has lost alittle something, maybe taking a step backward compared to the boys of the 90’s? I mean lets be honest if u or Shawn Ray, Flex, or Cormier were at ur prime right now, i dont think u would be touched by any of these guys right now, and im not bashing anyone im just saying how far and away advanced all u guys were. I wud even throw in Nasser, Priest and Dillett into that mix. Just curious what u think about the sport how it is right now compared to ur time, and trust me i know we have alot of great up and comers with guys like Heath, Evan, Curry, ect. But anyways keep it up Kev, love u bro!

    RoB from The Bronx, New York

    • ben says:

      Rob,you say that none of todays pro’s would came close to kevin at his peak? what about phil heath,dexter jackson,wolf,put down the crack pipe son.
      While kevin looks great by himself and has made some fantastic gains he is nowhere near stage ready,his legs are still way off and we have not seen his back yet.

  44. Mario says:

    Kevin whats the difference of having your hands over the bar and under the bar. Does this hit a different part of the back?

  45. RoB says:

    Ben

    If u read what i wrote correctly u would of saw that i said AT THE END OF THIS, AND IFFFFF HE PEAKED, AND IFFFFF HE LOOKED LIKE HOW HE DIDDDDD…here is my exact quote. I will even cap size so u can see better Ben.

    I mean damn i dont think anyone of the pro’s right now could touch u if U PEAKED and LOOKED ANYWHERE NEAR WHO U DID, i mean noone would come close, and i could almost guarantee u would finally win that sandow, i truthfully feel that way.

    And to answer ur other question, NO WAY would WOLF touch Levrone if Kev got into contest shape, NO WAY Heath touches Levrone, AS GOOD AS HEATH IS, and NO WAY Dex touches Levrone, because Levrone can outsize Dexter while having amazing condition and his amazing lines. Once again this is IF KEVIN RETURNS TO WHAT HE USED TO AND PEAKS…..

    So there u go Ben, hope u read this time more carefuLLy!

    • ben says:

      Rob

      stop smoking that weed it is frying your brain,and yes i did read carefully waht you said, I DID NOT SAY THAT KEVIN would not have chance if he competed now at his current weight against todays pro. I SAID THAT KEVIN at his absolute best/peak would not EASILY beat guys like victor,health,dexter,

      Read more carefully next time before you open your mouth

  46. Bakri New Zealand says:

    Sup Kevin,

    Awesome lifts bro, was wondering what your warmup weights are like for the different body parts, like DB flat bench chest for example, do you do a few 45lbs on each arm as a warm up etc? stretches etc.

    Just trying to mimic your technique and add in a bit of my own, maybe you could bring out a training manual of everything you do, from amateur to intermediate then advanced stages of body conditioning, as well as diets etc.

    Keep lifting, Keep increasing those poundages brother.

    Lovn it Kiwi Stylez!

  47. Rick says:

    Great seeing you today Kevin. Starting to look like the old Kev, walkin around the mall in a sleevless shirt. Yeah Baby! Like I said train do what you got to do, call up Arnold, get the invite, 2010 Arnold. Unless you just want to show up in Vegas this year and do what you should of been doing the last 4 years. Keep it up Kev. You look great.

  48. Aj says:

    Kevin,
    I’m a big fan from Qatar( Arabian gulf) and wan’t to thank you for your Nice website.I’m really Intersted in what your training spilt is?

    Keep the hard work bro..

  49. Lloyd says:

    Hello Kev,
    I met you back in the 2007 Olympia Expo in Vegas, we shook hands and took a photo. It was great meeting you even if you were half your size compared from 6 yrs ago. You seem down to earth and genuine. It’s unbelievable how you transform in just 4 weeks. I myself did a transformation starting 6 weeks ago, and gained about 8 lbs of muscle, and still going up (hopefully).
    Its amazing how strong you are still, how do you keep up w/ the amount of weight? it’s crazy!!!hehehe.
    Anyways, lots of support, respect and love for you bro.
    Natural all the way. The sport need to gain its legitimacy and respect.
    I hope to one day compete w/ you in the natural stage, it would be an honor.

    Sincerely,
    Lloyd
    from the Philippines, now an American Citizen.

  50. ben says:

    ROB B

    stop smoking that weed it is frying your brain,and yes i did read carefully waht you said, I DID NOT SAY THAT KEVIN would not have chance if he competed now at his current weight against todays pro. I SAID THAT KEVIN at his absolute best/peak would not EASILY beat guys like victor,health,dexter,

    Read more carefully next time before you open your mouth

Leave a Reply

